Re•architecture
RE•cycle, RE•use, RE•invest, RE•build

The Pavillon de l’Arsenal has invited fifteen European agencies that question the way that modern-day cities are built to participate in this exhibition. Through their original strategies, these architects enact change upon cities which in turn impact on city-life.



BEFORE COMMENT

Anne Hidalgo

First Deputy Mayor of Paris
in charge of Urban Planning and Architecture
Chairwoman of the Pavillon de l’Arsenal

Contemporary cities require a dynamic, lively and attentive approach, which, everyday, are fuelled by dialogue and shared experiences. For the first time in Paris, I have thus wanted to present a new way of “building cities” is inspired by new ways of daily living.
With the Re.architecture, Re.cycle, Re.use, Re.invest, Re.build exhibition we welcome an extremely promising generation of European architects who engage in participative and cross-cutting urban and architectural practices. They are part of collectives or associations, work in multidisciplinary teams and carry out experiments on cities in order to reinvent the everyday reality of our fellow citizens. The presentation of their lively, direct and sustainable projects is an invitation to discover and share in exciting ways of enhancing city landscapes.
Thus, whether through our own major Parisian urban experiences or this discovery of the diversity of new approaches, we will be even better armed in the future to meet the expectations of all inhabitants.

Presentation of the exhibition

The Pavillon de l’Arsenal has invited fifteen European agencies that question the way that modern-day cities are built to participate in this exhibition. Through their original strategies, these architects enact change upon cities which in turn impact on city-life.
In Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, London, Madrid, Paris or Rotterdam,… these extraordinary teams have taken up a critical stance. They admit to exploring the role of architecture in societal changes. They are pro-action and produce and often even build their projects themselves. The practices are promises which revive long-forgotten utopian ideals.
They all invent wonderful standards and approach the complexities of modern life with the ability to transform into reality the potential that lies at the crossroads between experience and the built-up world. They are pragmatic, good at conveying their message and tend to work with the existing residents and for the inhabitants of the future.
The thirty exhibited proposals, shown at the various stages of development, describe the conditions in which the orders were placed, the study behind the projects, participative action as well as the conditions in which studies were carried out and the projects completed. Each proposal is thus presented through videos, drawings, interviews, plans and photographs to provide the public with an idea of the innovative and experimental nature of their research. Whether temporary or permanent, these projects are perfectly in line with the times and do not create extra constraints which could limit future choices.
The projects, in the form of micro-interventions or urban strategies, tend to turn unused land and buildings into opportunities. They breathe optimism into areas which have lost their sparkle: urban infills, waste lands, abandoned land or buildings or even large structures. They reclaim space at a time when European cities must be rebuilt and the sprawl contained. And, of course, they commit to saving that which is not renewable and reuse what can be recycled.
In light of such an unexpected, thought-provoking production, six people bear witness to this alternative urban approach through their own experiences: Jean Blaise, Michel Cantal-Dupart, Didier Fusillier, Guillaume Hébert, Maud Le Floc’h and Thierry Paquot. With festive, sustainable, responsible and environment-friendly cities - they each reveal the new time-frames of urban projects, order expectations and new tools implemented in new methods.
Thus, the Re.architecture, Re.cycle, Re.use, Re.invest, Re.build project aims to be a platform for collective exploration, knowledge about actions and research regarding change and emerging cultural, social and political urban planning practices. We thus invite both the greater public and professionals to discover new strategies for reinventing cities together.

Alexandre Labasse
Architect, Managing Director of the Pavillon de l’Arsenal

 
Download the press file

>> PDF Format - 2128Ko

 

Share |

Created by
Pavillon de l'Arsenal
Exhibition Dates
12/4/2012 > 20/8/2012


Scientific curation
Pavillon de l'arsenal
with :
ANDRÉS JAQUE ARCHITECTS / ATELIER D’ARCHITECTURE AUTOGÉRÉE / ASSEMBLE / BRUIT DU FRIGO / COLLECTIF ETC / COLOCO / DUS ARCHITECTS / ECOSISTEMA URBANO / EXYZT / MUF ARCHITECTURE/ART / PRACTICE ARCHITECTURE / RAUMLABOR / ROTOR / ZUS [ZONES URBAINES SENSIBLES] / 1024 ARCHITECTURE

Scenography
Pavillon de l’Arsenal with
Aurélien Gillier & Nataniel,graphic design







Andrès Jaque architects

Assemble


Collectif etc

Coloco

Dus architects

Ecosistema urbano

Muf

Practice architecture

Raumlabor

Rotor

Zus (Zones Urbaines Sensibles)

AAA Atelier d'Architecture Autogérée

Exyzt

1024 architecture

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon


Use the menus below to search for an exhibition.

TITLES
CONCEPTORS


For more information, e-mail us at :
» infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com


• Subscribe to this RSS
• View all our RSS



Newsletter
Receive the latest information from the Pavillon de l’Arsenal
© PAVILLON DE L'ARSENAL   21, bld Morland 75004 Paris   +33 1 42 76 33 97   infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com
Center for information, documentation and exhibition for urban planning and architecture of Paris

Open from Tuesday to Saturday From 10:30 A.M. to 6:30 P.M., and from 11 A.M. to 7 P.M. on Sunday   |   Informations légales   |   Crédits

Re•architecture
Re•cycler, Ré•utiliser, Ré•investir, Re•construire
Nouvelles fabriques de la ville européenne


Le Pavillon de l’Arsenal invite quinze agences européennes qui réinterrogent aujourd’hui la fabrique de nos métropoles. Par leurs stratégies singulières, ces architectes changent la ville pour changer la vie.







Avant-propos
Anne Hidalgo

Première Adjointe au Maire de Paris, chargée de l'architecture et de l'urbanisme, Présidente du Pavillon de l'Arsenal

La métropole contemporaine s’appréhende de manière dynamique, vivante et attentive, elle se nourrit quotidiennement du dialogue et d’expériences partagées. J’ai donc souhaité, pour le première fois à Paris, donner la parole a une nouvelle façon de «fabriquer la ville» qui s’enrichit chaque jour d’une autre manière de la vivre.

Avec cette exposition Re.architecture, Re.cycler, Ré.utiliser, Ré.investir, Re.construire, voilà une génération d’architectes européens tout à fait prometteuse qui s’engage dans des pratiques urbaines et architecturales transversales et participatives. Réunies en collectifs ou associations, souvent pluridisciplinaires ces agences expérimentent la ville pour réinventer le quotidien de nos concitoyens. La présentation de leurs projets vifs, directs et durables nous invite à découvrir et faire partager un champ de possibles enthousiastes pour l’enrichissement de notre paysage métropolitain.

Ainsi, que ce soit au travers des grandes expériences urbaines parisiennes que nous vivons ou à l’occasion de cette découverte de la diversité enrichie de nouvelles démarches, nous serons mieux à même, encore, de répondre aux attentes de tous et de chacun


Présentation de l'exposition

Le Pavillon de l’Arsenal invite quinze agences européennes qui réinterrogent aujourd’hui la fabrique de nos métropoles. Par leurs stratégies singulières, ces architectes changent la ville pour changer la vie.

À Amsterdam, Berlin, Bruxelles, Londres, Madrid, Paris ou Rotterdam, ... ces équipes, hors normes, prennent des positions critiques. Leurs manifestes explorent le rôle de l’architecture dans l’évolution de la société. Ils prônent l’intervention comme action, produisent et même autoconstruisent parfois leurs projets. Leurs pratiques sont autant de promesses qui rendent possibles des utopies oubliées.

Tous inventent des normes magnifiques et appréhendent les complexités contemporaines, dans un souffle capable de réaliser les plaisirs potentiels qui existent à l’intersection entre le vécu et le bâti. Pédagogues et pragmatiques, ils travaillent avec ceux qui sont déjà là et pour ceux qui habiteront demain.

Les trente propositions exposées, présentées au fil des différentes phases de leur conception, décrivent tant les conditions de la commande que les moments d’enquête, les actions participatives ou les conditions des études et de réalisation. Chaque architecture s’expose ainsi au travers de vidéos, dessins, entretiens, plans et photos pour traduire ces recherches aussi expérimentales qu’innovantes. Éphémères ou pérennes, le temps de ces projets semble s’inscrire dans celui de notre époque pour ne pas créer des contraintes supplémentaires qui rétréciraient les choix futurs.

Micro-interventions ou stratégies urbaines, ces projets transforment les sujets et territoires inoccupés en opportunité. Elles rendent optimistes les lieux désenchantés. Dent creuse, friches, délaissés, territoires abandonnés, ou grands ensembles,… elles réinvestissent l’espace quand un des défis de la ville européenne est plus surement de se re-construire que de s’étendre. Et toujours, elles s’engagent à économiser ce qui n’est pas renouvelable et à recycler tout ce qui peut l’être.

Au regard de cette production qui offre des perspectives inattendues et engage des réflexions nouvelles, six témoins partagent au travers de leur expérience cette alter-dynamique urbaine : Jean Blaise, Michel Cantal-Dupart, Didier Fusillier, Guillaume Hébert, Maud Le Floc’h et Thierry Paquot. Entre ville foraine, durable, citoyenne, écologique… tous révèlent les nouveaux temps du projet urbain, les attentes de la commande et ses nouveaux outils pour faire autrement.

Ainsi, l’exposition Re.architecture, Re.cycler, Ré.utiliser, Ré.investir, Re.construire se veut une plate-forme collective d’exploration, de connaissance d’actions et de recherches autour des mutations et des pratiques culturelles, sociales et des politiques urbaines émergentes. Elle souhaite inviter le grand public et les professionnelles à découvrir de nouvelles stratégies pour réinventer ensemble la ville

Alexandre Labasse
Architecte, Directeur Général du Pavillon de l’Arsenal


 
Télécharger le dossier de presse

>> Format PDF - 2128Ko
 


Création de l'exposition
Pavillon de l'Arsenal
Dates de présentation
12/4/2012 > 20/8/2012


Commissariat scientifique
Pavillon de l'arsenal
avec :
ANDRÉS JAQUE ARCHITECTS / ATELIER D’ARCHITECTURE AUTOGÉRÉE / ASSEMBLE / BRUIT DU FRIGO / COLLECTIF ETC / COLOCO / DUS ARCHITECTS / ECOSISTEMA URBANO / EXYZT / MUF ARCHITECTURE/ART / PRACTICE ARCHITECTURE / RAUMLABOR / ROTOR / ZUS [ZONES URBAINES
SENSIBLES] / 1024 ARCHITECTURE

Scénographie
Pavillon de l’Arsenal avec
Aurélien Gillier & Nataniel, design graphique

En partenariat avec




Voir les vidéos Re.architecture



Andrès Jaque architects

Assemble

Bruit du frigo

Collectif etc

Coloco

Dus architects

Ecosistema urbano

Muf

Practice architecture

Raumlabor

Rotor

Zus (Zones Urbaines Sensibles)

AAA Atelier d'Architecture Autogérée

Exyzt

1024 architecture

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon

© Vincent Fillon


Pour trouver une exposition, utilisez les menus déroulants ci-dessous.

TITRES
CONCEPTEURS


Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez nous écrire à l'adresse suivante :
» infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com


• S'abonner à ce flux
• Consulter la liste de tous nos flux



Newsletter
Recevez toute l'actualité du Pavillon de l'Arsenal
© PAVILLON DE L'ARSENAL   21, bld Morland 75004 Paris   +33 1 42 76 33 97   infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com
Centre d'information, de Documentation et d'Exposition d'Urbanisme et d'Architecture de Paris et de la Métropole parisienne

Horaires d'ouverture : du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 18h30 et le dimanche de 11h à 19h   |   Informations légales   |   Crédits