Paris, a city in the making


Pavillon de l’Arsenal’s new permanent exhibition is over 800m² dedicated to the metropolis of Paris as it was, is and will be. Over 1,000 archived documents, photographs, maps, plans and films are on display, as well as a 37m2 digital model entitled “Paris, Metropolis 2020”, developed in partnership with Google and JCDecaux.


The digital model is a world first, providing a 2D or 3D overview of key areas marked out for redevelopment, the new transport networks and the iconic architecture of the city of tomorrow in their geographical context. Using Google Earth technology and mapping software, “Paris, Metropolis 2020” provides visitors with a unique interactive experience and an opportunity to discover the city on a multitude of scales, with thematic or free tours. The model is designed to be constantly updated. It is participative tool bringing together all those involved in the making of the city and allowing them to share their work.

“Paris, a city in the making” is a timeline retracing the origins of the area, and explaining the common history of the municipalities comprising the metropolitan area so that all visitors are able to understand how the region as we know it came to be. The exhibition is built around a number of landmark themes illustrating how the metropolis was shaped by the needs of agriculture, ornamentation or roadways, and then transformed, adapted and integrated in a process of urban planning that emerged under the influence of demographic, technological, economic and political developments.

Visitors are offered an insight into what is happening today and what is planned for the future “where, everyday, projects of every dimension are discussed, exchanged, shared with local residents and with all those who make the city a living entity”, as Anne Hidalgo, First Deputy Mayor of Paris responsible for Urban Planning and Architecture and Chairwoman of the Pavillon de l’Arsenal, writes in the preface to a work on the metropolitan projects and areas of tomorrow* coproduced in parallel to the exhibition.
Reconquering the Seine, carefully preserving the continuity of the city, whether it be the faubourgs or the post-war city, investing and innovating in new real estate, improving mobility and public spaces, developing iconic architecture, building upwards, etc. “Paris, a city in the making” is the first event to ever bring together, in the same place and at the same time, all the latest in urban and metropolitan architecture.

Around the main exhibition, the Pavillon de l’Arsenal also runs workshops for children in conjunction with the City of Paris Schools Department, as well as guided walking tours organised with Les Promenades Urbaines association.


* Paris, a city in the making
Produced in conjunction with Connaissance des Arts
44 pages, € 9

> Visit the dedicated website.

 
Download the press file

>> PDF Format - 1681Ko


Share |


Find out more about the digital model "Paris, métropole 2020"



Exhibition created by the Pavillon de l'Arsenal
december 2011

Scientific curation
Philippe Simon, architect and teacher.

Scenography 2011
Sylvain Enguehard, design graphique
Galiano-Simon architectures
Assisted by Laurence Benoist-Veillet, architect, teacher

Scenography 2003
Finn Geipel et Giulia Andi, LIN, architects et urbanists

Digital model "Paris, metropolis 2020"
Created by the Pavillon de l'Arsenal

In partnership with
Google
JCDecaux

Exhibition "Paris, a city in the making" and the digital model "Paris, metropolis 2020" are created with :

la Ville de Paris

la Direction de l'urbanisme de la Ville de Paris

Paris Habitat-Oph / Rivp / Semaest / Semapa / Semavip / Semidep / SemPariSeine / Sgim / Siemp / Spla Paris Batignolles Aménagement

L'Atelier parisien d'urbanisme

Google

JCDecaux

ultranoir


et le soutien de :
ALTAREA-COGEDIM
BEACON CAPITAL PARTNERS
BNP PARIBAS IMMOBILIER
FONDATION D'ENTREPRISE BOUYGUES IMMOBILIER
BOUWFONDS MARIGNAN IMMOBILIER
COFELY GDF SUEZ
COFITEM-COFIMUR
COTEBA GROUPE ALTAREA
EGIS
EMERIGE
EPADESA
ESPACES FERROVIAIRES
FONCIERE DES REGIONS
GECINA
GENERALI IMMOBILIER
HERTEL
ICADE
IMMOBILIÈRE 3F
KAUFMAN & BROAD
NACARAT
NEXITY
OCIC
OROSDI SCA
PARIS-SACLAY
PITCH PROMOTION
PORTS DE PARIS
RATP/SEDP/LOGIS TRANSPORTS
SEFRI-CIME
SOCIÉTÉ FONCIÈRE LYONNAISE
SODEARIF
SYCTOM DE L'AGGLOMÉRATION PARISIENNE
UNIBAIL-RODAMCO
VINCI IMMOBILIER




A book was published to accompany this exhibition.
















For more information, email us at :
» infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com


• Subscribe to this RSS
• View all our RSS



Newsletter
Receive the latest information from the Pavillon de l’Arsenal
© PAVILLON DE L'ARSENAL   21, bld Morland 75004 Paris   +33 1 42 76 33 97   infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com
Center for information, documentation and exhibition for urban planning and architecture of Paris

Open from Tuesday to Saturday From 10:30 A.M. to 6:30 P.M., and from 11 A.M. to 7 P.M. on Sunday   |   Informations légales   |   Crédits

Paris, la métropole et ses projets


La nouvelle exposition permanente du Pavillon de l’Arsenal consacre plus de 800m2 à l’histoire, l’actualité et au devenir de la métropole parisienne au travers de plus de 1000 documents d’archives, photos, cartes, plans, films et d’une maquette numérique de 37m2.





Première mondiale, la maquette numérique "Paris Métropole 2020", développée en partenariat avec Google et JCDecaux, présente, dans leur contexte géographique en 2D ou 3D, les grands territoires de projet en mutation, les nouveaux réseaux de transport et les architectures emblématiques de la ville de demain. Basée sur la technologie et la cartographie du logiciel Google Earth, Paris, métropole 2020 offre une expérience interactive unique pour découvrir la métropole dans toutes ses échelles au travers d’une navigation libre ou thématique”. Conçue pour être régulièrement complétée et actualisée, la maquette numérique est un outil participatif qui fédère les acteurs qui font la ville et rassemble dans un outil commun et partagé leurs productions.

Paris, la métropole et ses projets retrace, au fil d’un parcours chronologique, l’origine de ce territoire et raconte les histoires croisées entre les communes de la métropole pour permettre à tous de comprendre le territoire d’aujourd’hui. L’exposition offre ainsi de nombreux repères thématiques qui permettent d’expliquer la métropole structurée par des logiques agricoles, ornementales ou viaires, puis transformée, adaptée, intégrée dans un processus d’urbanisation issu de développements démographiques, technologiques, économiques et politiques.

Chacun est invité à découvrir l’actualité et le devenir “où chaque jour des projets de toutes tailles, de tous types sont discutés, échangés, partagés avec les habitants, avec celles et ceux qui la font vivre” comme l’écrit Anne Hidalgo, Première adjointe au Maire de Paris chargée de l’Urbanisme et de l’Architecture et Présidente du Pavillon de l’Arsenal, dans la préface de l’ouvrage co-produit en parallèle de l’exposition et consacré aux projets et territoires métropolitains de demain*.
Reconquérir la Seine, continuer la ville avec attention que ce soit les faubourgs ou la ville de l’après-guerre, investir et innover sur de nouvelles emprises foncières, améliorer la mobilité et les espaces publics, développer des architectures emblématiques, construire en hauteur,... Paris, la métropole et ses projets rassemble pour la première fois dans un même lieu toute l’actualité architecturale et urbaine métropolitaine.

Le Pavillon de l’Arsenal propose également autour de l’exposition des ateliers enfants en partenariat avec la Direction des Affaires Scolaires de la Ville de Paris et des visites organisées avec l’association promenades urbaines.

* Paris, la métropole et ses projets
Ouvrage co-produit avec Connaissance des Arts
44 pages, 9 euros


> Visiter le site dédié.

VISITES GUIDEES GRATUITES
Visites guidées gratuites de l'exposition tous les samedis à 15h et les dimanches à 16h30

Visites assurées par un médiateur, étudiant en Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'architecture
Informations et réservations : 01 42 76 33 97
 
Télécharger le dossier de presse

>> Format PDF - 1681Ko




Découvrir en détail la maquette numérique "Paris, métropole 2020"


Exposition créée par le Pavillon de l'Arsenal
décembre 2011

Commissariat scientifique
Philippe Simon, architecte et enseignant.
Galiano-Simon architectures
assisté de Laurence Benoist-Veillet, architecte, enseignante

Scénographie 2011
Sylvain Enguehard, design graphique

Scénographie 2003
Finn Geipel et Giulia Andi, LIN, architectes et urbanistes

Maquette "Paris, métropole 2020"
créée par le Pavillon de l'Arsenal

en partenariat avec
Google
JCDecaux

L'exposition "Paris, la métropole et ses projets" et la maquette numérique "Paris, métropole 2020" sont réalisées avec :

la Ville de Paris

la Direction de l'urbanisme de la Ville de Paris

L'Atelier parisien d'urbanisme

Google

JCDecaux

ultranoir

et le soutien de :
ALTAREA-COGEDIM
ANRU
BEACON CAPITAL PARTNERS
BNP PARIBAS IMMOBILIER
BOUWFONDS MARIGNAN IMMOBILIER
COTEBA GROUPE ALTAREA
EGIS
ELOGIE
EMERIGE
EPADESA
ESPACES FERROVIAIRES
FONDATION D'ENTREPRISE BOUYGUES IMMOBILIER
GECINA
GENERALI IMMOBILIER
HERTEL INVESTISSEMENT
ICADE TERTIAL
IMMOBILIÈRE 3F
NACARAT
NEXITY
OGIC
OROSDI SCA
PARIS-SACLAY
PITCH PROMOTION
RATP/SEDP/LOGIS TRANSPORTS
SEFRI-CIME
SOCIÉTÉ FONCIÈRE LYONNAISE
SODEARIF
SYCTOM DE L'AGGLOMÉRATION PARISIENNE
UNIBAIL-RODAMCO
VINCI IMMOBILIER PROMOTION
PARIS BATIGNOLLES AMENAGEMENT
PARIS HABITAT OPH
RIVP
SAEM VAL DE SEINE
SEMAEST
SEMAPA
SEMAVIP
SEMPARISEINE
SIEMP
SEMMASSY
SOCIETE DU GRAND PARIS



Un ouvrage a été édité avec cette exposition.












© Vincent Fillon




Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez nous écrire à l'adresse suivante :
» infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com


• S'abonner à ce flux
• Consulter la liste de tous nos flux



Newsletter
Recevez toute l'actualité du Pavillon de l'Arsenal
© PAVILLON DE L'ARSENAL   21, bld Morland 75004 Paris   +33 1 42 76 33 97   infopa@pavillon-arsenal.com
Centre d'information, de Documentation et d'Exposition d'Urbanisme et d'Architecture de Paris et de la Métropole parisienne

Horaires d'ouverture : du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 18h30 et le dimanche de 11h à 19h   |   Informations légales   |   Crédits